Music (A-Z).

Holy shit, it’s not Jiu-Jitsu related! Apparently, you can tell a lot about someone by their listening habits, so I’m going to give you a little A-motherfucking-Z of mine, with a bit of blurb about each and why.

A – Audioslave

Audioslave for me are the best of both worlds. You have Chris Cornell of Soundgarden up front, and what is essentially Rage Against the Machine behind him. What makes this band so fantastic for me is the distinct lack of Zach de la Rocha. Sorry Zach, but I couldn’t give two fucks about your political opinions and how you deliver them. Whereas Chris is proper rock n roll, singing about arson and shit.

 

B – The Black Keys

The Black Keys are a two piece that have completely blown up recently. My girlfriend introduced me to them some years ago, and I’ve been hooked ever since. Obtaining all their albums, and even going to watch them live twice last year. TWO GUYS, that much fucking noise. Blues, rock, fucking bliss.

 
C – The Clash

The Clash were a band I never thought I’d appreciate, but I was beyond wrong. Zach de la Rocha could learn a thing or two here. They were political, but not completely fucking shit with it.

 
D – Deftones

This was one of the bands I picked up awkwardly as a teenager, when I was trying to find myself. I soon realised that Limp Bizkit wasn’t for me, and that I was better suited to the Deftones. It doesn’t get much heavier than this for me, I still like lyrics before screaming.

 
E – Eels

Mark Oliver Everett has written some incredibly dark depressing stuff, dressed up by catchy hooks and a great singing voice. I’m in.

 
F – Foo Fighters

Dave Grohl’s ever changing Foo Fighters. This band has been through a fair few line-ups, but you can tell they just want to have a fuckload of fun, and rock out. I dig it.

 
G – Gentlemans Pistols

You likely won’t have heard of them, as they’re a band from Leeds, England that appeared out of nowhere, made one album and fucked off. The little wankers. It’s a smashing album.

 
H – Howling Bells

An Aussie band, more darkness dressed up with good vocals and melody throughout. Their first album is a whimsical experience.

 
I – Interpol

I find Interpol almost robotic. And I can’t even fault them for that. Everything seemingly has a place, and the lead vocalist even sounds a bit like what robots will soon sound like when they try to take over the world.

 
J – Jack White

The White Stripes, The Raconteurs, The Dead Weather, need I go on? Everything this man touches turns to gold. Even his Bond song with Alicia Keys is brilliant. Heard his cover of U2 song ‘Love is Blindness’? It’s fucking GREAT.

 
K – Kyuss

Stoner rock dating back to when I was born. Just gritty fucking noise. You can almost feel the filth dripping down the walls of the grotty little studio this was probably recorded in.

 
L – Led Zepplin

I find Zepplin very hit and miss, but every so often I go back to them, and just think WOW. What an era of music that was, and what a fucking voice. All the while, Jimmy Page (who now looks like an awkward aunty) was making love to a guitar live on stage.

 
M – Muse

I used to find Muse very depressing, and boring. But one day I just clicked. They’re experimental, political, nonsensical and very talented. Matt Bellamy alone can by all accounts be the most arrogant fuck on earth if he wants, for his vocal range, piano playing and guitar abilities.

 
N – Nirvana

I often wonder how this band would have gone if Kurt hadn’t decided to abruptly put things on hold. He was such a tormented, twisted and misunderstood person. I’m not going to pretend I knew where the fuck he was coming from, because I have no idea. I’m not a musical savant, but boy could he, Krist and Dave jam.

 
O – Ozzy Osbourne

All aboard the Crazy Train!!! The Prince of fucking Darkness, there is no Sabbath without him.

 
P – Pink Floyd

My favourite band of all time. Musical innovators, and the kings of prog rock. They’ve got a pick ’em of albums, covering all moods, and they truly messed about with their own sound.

 
Q – Queens of the Stone Age

More dirty, filthy stoner rock. I cannot even describe how good ‘God is in the Radio’ feels but I turn it all the way to 11 when listening.

 
R – Radiohead

If ever there was a face of true Misery, it’s Thom fucking Yorke. He sings like a sparrow that has been shot in the throat. Many find his music completely depressing, but if anything it takes me away from all of those darker moments. I find Radiohead uplifting, because it could be a lot fucking worse.

 
S – The Smiths

STOP THE BUS! Speaking of fucking misery, here’s old vegan pants himself before he turned into a complete fucking wanker. The Smiths were cracking. Everything that followed on the Manchester scene was utterly pish compared.

 
T – Tool

Progressive metal. More filthy music. A voice, and metal without all the fucking bullshit. I’ll never understand Thrash or whatever it’s called. The bunch of screaming dickheads. This is melodic metal, I love it.

 
U – U.N.K.L.E.

War Stories is their best for me, and I could happily listen to it five hundred times in a row. It’s a big mish-mash of styles, collaberators and influences.

 
V – Van Halen

David Lee Roth popularised grappling spats before they were even famous. Spandex, bitch.

 
W – Wolfmother

This is probably what the Aussies do best. Good old Hard Rock. I remember when I first heard Wolfmother and thought, how the fuck did they slip by? Thinking they were from the ’70s. But oh no, just heavily influenced. It’s a shame they’ve split, and we probably won’t get a third album.

 
X – The XX

Simple, effective electronic music that just chills me out.

 
Y – Young, Neil (Yeah, I cheated, FUCK YOU is why).

It’s Neil Young, don’t fucking argue with me, OK?

 
Z – The Zutons

This is the only band I could think of with a ‘Z’ in the name, however for their time, they were brilliant. Remember Amy Winehouse’s ‘Valerie’? Yeah, well that’s theirs, and they did it better. Ooh, controversial.

 

As you can see my roots are set mostly in rock. I’m a big fan of stoner rock in particular, although I’m not a stoner. I completely adore music but lately have found myself getting so fucking bored of everything I listen to. I’m trying to expand, but that’s difficult when you’re utterly convinced that music isn’t going to get any better than it has already been.

As you can tell, I’m a well adjusted person. I no longer claim to be electic, because whilst I do listen to a lot of other genres of music, it’s clear what makes me happy. Admittedly, I got a bit bored whilst writing this, because I commited to something that I realised about halfway through, that you probably don’t care what my opinions on these bands are, BUT I soldiered on, I thought fuck you and your opinions. That said, if you’d like to add anything to this post, please do. I value your opinion. Haha.

Obviously I missed a fuck load of bands, such as The Pixies. Without them, there would be no Nirvana. But fucked if I was about to waste my ‘P’ spot on them, when Pink Floyd are such a big part of my life.

I think I’m done,

Cheerio.

Leave a Reply

