Weights und Sparring!

HALT! Stop the bus.

On Monday after my hearty training session the day prior, I found myself back at the gym to meet up with Grant, Geoff and Patrick (Strength & Conditioning Coach) to put my body through that special kind of hell that makes athletes out of men. This is not something I’d ever seen myself doing, for two reasons. Lifting stuff sucks & my father already holds the torch for the family there. Keeping in with my own identity, I’m the Jiu-Jitsu guy. He’s the lifty guy.

I believe myself to be quite strong to an extent, but anyone who has conditioned strength can literally take the piss out of me because of it. So it’s time to shape up. Patrick has devised a dastardly plan to turn us runts into monsters. I’ll not give away his super top secret warm up methods, but the actual weight lifting itself as it’s nothing out of the ordinary.

Back Squat – 3 sets – 10 reps – 3 minute rest
Bench Press – 3 sets – 10 reps – 3 minute rest
Stiff Legged Deadlift – 3 sets – 10 reps – 3 minute rest
Bent Over Row – 3 sets – 10 reps – 3 minute rest
Military Press – 3 sets – 10 reps – 3 minute rest
Barbell Rollouts – 3 sets – 10 reps – 90 second rest

Idea is to start light and increase the weight gradually until I reach that comfortable yet heavyish weight that turns me into a Gi ripping son of a bitch. First session was good, though Barbell Rollouts are fucking awful.

On Wednesday, we sparred. Standing sparring first. Getting the correct tie ups, and working that whole breaking balance thing. From here we lead into catching the single for the takedown. This shit is tiring, but a necessity if you want to actively compete. Bleurgh.

We moved onto ground sparring. I had a very playful roll with a guy called Darren, who has trained in Canada, amongst other places. He’s strong, quick as hell and a bit of a handful. This was an enjoyable roll, without neither of us attacking too hard and generally work the same positions over and over, as if we were caught in a grappling loop.

I can’t remember if Dane or Geoff was next, however both were good rolls. Dane like Darren is quite fast paced, so I tend to try and sit back and look for sweeps so I can capitalise. He defended a lot of my attacks, but I caught him with a triangle from the mount. I left myself with a bad base to encourage a bridge, which lead straight into a pretty shitty triangle that needed about 6 adjustments before it actually worked.

Geoff’s defense is coming on far too quickly for my liking, so I’m having to be craftier when rolling with him. After a failed sweep attempt, I took his back and started to work the bow & arrow choke, the attempt was sloppy so he defended well. However he was in a prime position for me to lock up an inverted triangle. That got the tap after he realised he couldn’t move and I could happily adjust all day until his last breath was taken from him. I would have killed him there if I had to, but he knew better.

We then worked a bit of defense from turtled position, to go over what may have been missed when people were rolling. I paired up with Raphael, our resident Brazilian/purple belt. For someone that weighs less than a bag of potatoes, he is fucking rock solid when he wants to be. This was a learning experience, trying to move him around, attack his back, etc. And when the shoe was on the other foot, he showed how open I was leaving myself to chokes and armbars, etc. Nasty.

I didn’t train tonight because today was payday and I decided to overload of Burger King instead. Kurt Osiander would be disappointed, but fuck him.

adeus.

Leave a Reply

