Eddie fucking Bravo.

Validity is a wonderful thing. I’ve never been fully convinced by the 10th Planet system, and that’s mainly because I’ve never really experienced it first hand. Sure I know the 10th planet guys are tearing it up in competitions around the world, but there’s still a degree of mystery with most Jiu-Jitsu styles. Without accepting that style, and training it you’re probably not going to be able to shut it down as effectively. Look at the world’s elite for instance. The rubberguard and its offshoots doesn’t even factor into their thought process, but you bet your fucking arse they’ve played around with it. That’s down to Eddie Bravo, and his wild system. My first hand experience of the rubberguard, etc has resulted in me shutting it down quickly so that nothing gets too tricky. That’s not to say I’m a good grappler, it’s just that I’ve seen people get lost in that tangled web. Fuck that.

Now you can probably guess why I’m bringing this up, and it’s of course because of Metamoris 3 the other night. Now, I’d been looking forward to this card for quite some time, and as soon as I had the chance to I went right to the moneyshot. Eddie Bravo vs Royler Gracie. I instantly disregarded all care for the other matches. The only other one I was half interested in really was Keenan vs Vinny, and that got scrapped just before it was due to start. For me, the hype of the main fight crushed the rest of the card. I’ve seen the rest of the guys roll a billionty six times before. It’s not as special.

I didn’t know what to expect. Both guys are older than your average competitor, that’s for sure. Eddie is 43 and Royler is 48. I’d watched a bit of build up that showed them training, and they both looked in good physical shape for their ages. Problem is, you’re only ever going to see the good in these videos. They’re hardly going to want footage of themselves getting smashed going out there.
Now Royler is one of those fancy red and black belts. His grappling credentials are good, even with that blemish to Bravo all those years ago. He usually works a vicious passing game, leading into a tight nasty submission.
Bravo on the other hand is a black belt in his own system, and under Jean Jacques Machado. This is where belts become vague I guess. Who’s to say what’s better? A man who has paid his dues all the way up to red and black, due to competition, knowledge and of course his name. Or a man who is willing to experiment with the system, and try to break the mould.

Eddie won the morally victory purely on his ability to attack. He hit three electric chairs with relative ease. The neck crank attempt looked fucking painful as did the calf crank. He really was trying to put this man away. Although as Jeff Glover suggested, unless you choke him you’re not going to tap him. Royler had glimmers of brilliance too. The way he pretty much said, “FUCK OFF” as Eddie tried to take his back, was just so fucking effortless. There were sweeps a plenty, and it was just intense to watch. I loved it.

After this, I’d happily watch Eddie roll again and again. Just to see how he deals with different styles. How would he fair against Caio Terra for instance? I think it’s safe to say Eddie Bravo is no joke. The world’s elite are a different breed now though, and that’s getting scary. I think it’s about time Metamoris, and other big comps started pitting old vs new. I’d love to see the clash of styles, athleticism, etc.

Leave a Reply

