The Blank Canvass.

Today’s class was due to be taught by our guest black belt Yannis but he can’t make it. Our resident purple belt is off gallivanting somewhere, so you know what that means? Open mat. This is a great opportunity to just relax and try something new, something that you may have seen recently or even just a chance to hone what you already know. Points will be deducted for anyone attempting The Electric Chair.

You have a blank canvass, and in the rarest of occasions, you’re the artist. I’m not sure what I’ll work today, but I’m trying to get my head around a sequence I’ve been wanting to try for a while. Whether it’s possible or not, I have no idea but that’s the joy of practice. Today is about play. I have such a clear visual representation in my head of what I want to do, but have no idea whether I’ve already seen it before, or whether it’ll even work. That my friend, is Jiu-Jitsu.

A friend of mine has a sequence he wants to work too. So we’ll practice both, and then likely have a roll to try and implement them. There’s still over six hours to go until I’ll be at the gym, but I’m already itching to be there. Might have to start grabbing colleagues in seatbelt control, and when they freak out put them out with a bow & arrow choke. It’s the only thing that’ll cull this desire to train for a few hours.

I’ll report back on whether or not the thing I have in my head worked. It’s bizarre being able to picture something your body may not be capable of. Fuck it, it’s worth a go.

Leave a Reply

