Jiu-Jitsu vs Wrestling.

THE GREAT DEBATE (well not really).

The summer months have been unkind. A lot of the people that train Jiu-Jitsu are either off on holidays with their families, or exploring the world in other ways. The decline in club attendees leaves a limited number of guys to train with. The guys that are left are mostly smelly, disgusting wrestlers.

I say that with a little tongue-in-cheek, because whilst I mostly prattle on about Jiu-Jitsu, I’m firmly in the camp of grappling’s grappling. Whether it’s Sambo, Judo, Freestyle, Greco, Catch, BJJ or Steven Seagaldo; I don’t care. There is no clear path to victory, it’s down to the individual and how they excell at their individual art. If you’re an exceptional wrestler, that doesn’t give you an immediate pass against an exceptional Jiu-Jitsu guy, and vice versa. It’s styles, attributes and most importantly of all, proprioception.

Proprioception if you don’t know, is your understanding of your own capabilities and how the body delivers them. So for instance, if you close your eyes and try to touch your nose, your spacial awareness along with all those sexy little neurons firing off, link up and direct that blind little finger straight to the tip of your nose. Apply that to grander scale, and arm goes here, leg goes here, hips sprawl, etc. That understanding is vital in grappling, and once you’re good at it, it becomes a subconscious effort on your brain’s part. You don’t know you’re doing it.

Anyways! Back to training. I’ve been carrying on with BJJ as I would anyways, but I’ve always been taking in what I like to think of a NoGi grappling clinic. This is straight after my BJJ class on a Wednesday night and is run by one of our wrestling coaches, Paul Hughes. He’s amassed a plethora of techniques over the years, and he uses these little sessions to share his wide berth of knowledge. I feel that I learn something every single week, and it’s expanding my game into areas that I either haven’t explored before, or at least should have. I truly believe it’s doing me the world of good.

Tonight though, I decided to do some ghetto rolling. A small portion of the gym was free, so Ewan, Kenny, Olly & myself decided to roll. The sambo class was on in the cage, and the fitness class was on the mats. We had a little shark tank/two on the mat sorta affair going on. This was a great little session. I got absolutely whooped, as I often do, but it was great to experience completely different styles, and just try and work with that. Some of it was completely fucking baffling, mind.

Ewan is a freestyle wrestler that doesn’t really do subs. So he’s just this horrible, smothering pressure and squeezy bastard. Doing things that I haven’t really encountered before, but that’s good, because with time, I will get used to it.
Kenny is a catch wrestler. He knows how to use his weight well, doesn’t mind being on bottom, because he’ll sweep and drive through you into some nasty slick, sweaty, Jesus blessed bastard hold.
Olly is probably best described as a NoGi wrestler. So his style is very wrestle based, but for submissions. Neither catch nor BJJ, but experienced and difficult to deal with.
I am prodominantly what you’d call a BJJ guy. I flail about, I’m all too comfortable on my back, and it can lead to me getting crushed, tied up like a idiot, etc.

It’s a rare and wonderful thing to have four different styles all having at one another. Sure I got a bit battered, but I’m learning as I go. And with the way I learn, this is all very fucking helpful. I need to fight these cunts to one day better other cunts like them. I think I’ll end there.

Have a good weekend, you motherfuckers. x

2 responses to “Jiu-Jitsu vs Wrestling.

  1. Pingback: August 15, 2015 - BJJ News

Leave a Reply

