Sleepy Time.

SO tonight after god knows how many hours on the mat, I was put to sleep for the first time ever by the wonderful Frank.
Anyone that’s sparred with him knows he’s a very strong grappler, that puts position before submission. As you well should. He also doesn’t horse submissions on, and just lets the technique do the work.

He caught me with a bread cutter choke. Nice and simple. Basic. Something he goes for a lot, and I’m usually capable of defending or alleviating the pressure of.

In my head, the following scenario played out:

Holy buggery this is tight – I need to tap! Hand on elbow, relieve pressure, stiff arm, bridge, shrimp, create space, sit up and reset.

My brain had other ideas though. I probably flailed about the floor like an idiot, next thing I know, I’m sitting up in front of Frank being re-assured that I’m alright, it happens to everyone. I didn’t even know I was out.

Luckily Frank isn’t a cunt and immediately re-assured me about the time he went to sleep. Grant did the same. Weight lifted.

What freaked me out most is how un-freaked out I was. I’m aware that sounds utterly stupid, but I didn’t feel any different to how I felt before the class. It was just weird. Dare I say normal. I’m lucky enough that it’s taken so many years for it to happen.
I’ve caught people the right way, and put them to sleep, and I’ve seen plenty of other people get put to sleep. It’s just part of this fabled art.

It was bizarre but I’m unscathed! Onto the next class. 🤘😴💤

Leave a Reply

