Cyclical Drills.

S’up y’all, I haven’t penned anything in a while because my quill has been out of ink. It’s only now that I’ve stored up enough blood of my fallen brethren to scrawl together this literary masterpiece*.

*littered catastrophe. Shit drivel. A fresh fart in an otherwise empty room.

On Sunday we worked basic armbars & collar chokes. BORING. On Monday we worked basic butterfly guard. BORING. These drills are often monotonous and require a partner that you can either have a bit of a laugh with, or someone that you can bang out the reps with. If you strike it lucky, you’ll get both and when it comes to sparring you’re already bloody knackered.
Now I’m not a complete idiot, I’m well aware that these drills are important. Blacksmiths don’t just magic a sword out of nowhere; they repeat the same basic techniques over and over until they’ve completely transformed a block of metal into a sharp nasty bastard of a blade.
As a result of these boring old drills, I’ve turned into quite a fan of the butterfly guard. That’s what reps do. You transcend into a dark place. It’s getting close to the point of muscle memory for me. I’m also partial to an armbar, but when people know  that part of your game; you have to abandon that shit, and start tying stuff together. Ugh.

That’s where cyclical drills come into play. It’s something I’ve dabbled with in the past, but something I don’t do enough of. Sure when I roll, I know that I’m not going to get an armbar by just throwing it up unless my opponent is basically brand new. I know that I’ll have to setup a move X to lead into move Y so that I can finish on move Z.
Last night Billy showed off a beautiful cyclical flow that I have not done justice to, but will continue to work until it’s on point. Whilst we were in the gi, we worked the NoGi variation of the flow so it’s adaptable. Plus it means you don’t have to rely on collar grips, etc.

There’s a lot of details, so I’m going to completely gloss over them and do an absolute disservice to Billy by explaining them really fucking poorly.

Back control seatbelt – opponent escapes to your underhook side – walk around the clock to North/South whilst maintaining seatbelt – haul them up and crawl/walk towards – take the back by placing the underhook side leg flat along the floor by their hips – take hook on overhook side and pull to the ground on overhook side – maintain grip and turn out into head and arm choke – opponent defends – take mount – pull into necktie – switch to armbar – opponent defends – pull opponent passed you and into back control seatbelt – rinse and repeat.

I paired up with Ronnie for this, and we really battered through the reps. It was one of those sequences that immediately made sense. Most importantly, it was fun. Not monotonous. What follows is a wee video of me poorly attempting it.

Toodle-oo motherfuckos.

Leave a Reply

